Skip to content

Best stream highlight clippers, tested on one 4-hour stream

Price the same four-hour stream on every tool: how the moments are found, how the clip reaches captioned vertical, and what that one stream costs.

A four-hour stream is 240 source minutes. GPT-Video captions and reframes it on Starter at $19 a month, which holds 250 minutes, but you upload the file and post it yourself. StreamLadder and Eklipse take the stream from Twitch or Kick and publish for you. Opus Clip needs its $29 Pro plan for that length, and Spikes Studio needs PRO+.

The short answer

Seven tools are compared on one job. You finished a four-hour stream, and you want captioned vertical highlights from it. That recording is 240 minutes of source, and the useful questions follow from the number. How does the tool find the moments? How does a moment become a 9:16 clip with subtitles? What does this one stream cost on the entry plan that can hold it?

We make GPT-Video, so it is listed first. On Starter ($19 a month, 250 credits) it handles the stream with 10 credits to spare, and it adds captions and a face-following reframe. It does not post, and it cannot pull a stream from a link. StreamLadder and Eklipse are the two stream-native tools, and both publish for you. Opus Clip, Spikes Studio, Klap and Crayo clip any long video, with different meters. Everything below was read on the vendors' own pages on 2026-10-04.

How we ran the test

One recording, four hours long. Every tool is judged on the same three things.

  • Finding moments. What the tool says it looks at, and what you see about why a clip was picked.
  • Getting to a captioned vertical. Reframe, captions and layouts, and whether publishing is part of the tool.
  • The cost of that stream. We divide the price of the first plan that can hold 240 minutes by the allowance it states. Where a vendor states no allowance, we say so and give the plan price alone.

Prices are monthly unless stated. The order inside the list is ours and carries no score.

1. GPT-Video (we make it)

This is our product and our own claim, so weigh it against the six sections after it.

You export the stream and upload the file. GPT-Video transcribes the whole four hours, scores each moment, and writes down why it chose a clip: which line opens it and which sentence pushed the score up. A clip is reframed around whoever is talking and gets captions. To alter one, you type the change to the Editor Assistant, and an edit you dislike can be reverted. For gameplay beside a face camera there is a split screen maker, and the stream highlights page and the streamer page walk through the workflow. When you use a split screen, only the main recording is billed, and the second video in the layout is not counted.

At Standard quality one credit is one source minute, so the stream takes 240 credits. Starter holds 250. At $0.076 a credit, 240 × $0.076 is about $18.24. Draft costs half, 120 credits, so a quick first pass leaves 130 credits on Starter. Maximum costs 2.5 times, 600 credits, which needs Creator ($49 for 800 credits).

Where it falls short: no plan stays free for good. A new account gets free access once its email is confirmed, which is 50 credits over 14 days with no card. That is 50 of the stream's 240 minutes at Standard, and places are limited. Links to Twitch or YouTube are refused, and nothing is posted or scheduled whichever plan you hold. Developers get a documented API for people on Creator or Studio and an MCP connector. We claim no game-specific detection, so a play nobody comments on is the first thing to test.

2. StreamLadder (a streamer's editor with a publisher)

StreamLadder suits a streamer who wants one app from VOD to scheduled post. Twitch and Kick VODs import from a link. Its highlight finder, ClipGPT, scores every clip from 0 to 100, locates the webcam and holds the face inside the vertical crop. The editor has stacked, side-by-side and picture-in-picture layouts and animated captions, and a built-in publisher schedules to TikTok, Reels and Shorts.

The entry plan, Starter, is $14.99 a month, but it unlocks the editor, captions and posting, and ClipGPT starts at Creator, $26.99 a month, where it is described as unlimited. For our stream the working price is therefore $26.99, with no minute meter to divide it by. Basic editing is described as free, and a new user can try the premium features for 7 days. Higher up, Pro is $38.99 and adds 4K at 60 FPS.

The limit is the price list. Its pricing page could not be read, so these are App Store in-app prices and the web price may differ. No maximum VOD length is stated for ClipGPT, so check that a four-hour recording is accepted. We found no public API or MCP connector, and no Reddit story or fake text tools.

3. Eklipse (gaming highlights from a connected channel)

Eklipse is aimed at gamers. You link your Twitch, Kick or YouTube channel, and the tool trims the strongest stretches of each broadcast into vertical clips sized for TikTok, Reels and Shorts. Its detection is built around gameplay. Gameplay-plus-facecam layouts, captions, memes and effects are included, and a Content Publisher schedules to TikTok and YouTube.

According to its help articles, Eklipse sells one tier, Premium, at $24.99 monthly. Paying yearly lowers that to $14.99 a month, which is $179.99 over the year. Signing up costs nothing and returns a sample scan of one recent broadcast, while creating and exporting clips is reserved for Premium subscribers.

The limit is that the price is not nailed down. Its own blog says no public price list exists and the rate is settled at checkout, and its pages disagree with each other. A May 2024 official post quotes $19.99 monthly or $149.99 yearly, while a July 2026 blog puts the annual rate near $12.50 a month. We state no per-stream cost because the pages read give no allowance in minutes, clips or credits. An older post mentions a 3-hour stream limit on the free account, and we could not confirm that it still applies. Face-tracking reframe is not described, and we found no API.

4. Opus Clip (a general clipper that imports from Twitch)

Opus Clip takes streams from Twitch and StreamYard as well as YouTube, Zoom and others, and its help centre gives a maximum video length of 10 hours. Clips are scored, captioned and reframed. Pro adds a gameplay layout, moving-object tracking and a genre-specific reframing model, plus a scheduler for nine networks. A hosted MCP server and an API in beta sit on the same plan.

The cheapest paid tier, Starter at $15, carries 150 credits and each credit is one source minute. That falls short of 240 minutes, so the stream calls for Pro, $29 with 300 credits. Divide $29 by 300 and a minute is about $0.097. Multiply by 240 and the stream is about $23.20. The no-cost plan allows 60 credits monthly, and the 7-day Pro trial allows 90 minutes, so neither reaches 240.

The weak point is the meter. Every source minute costs the same single credit, and no half-price preview exists. Publishing a clip to X takes another 3 credits from that allowance. Credits bought monthly lapse after 60 days, and Pro's 300 leave room for this stream plus 60 minutes.

5. Spikes Studio (minutes of video, with a scheduler)

Spikes Studio finds the best moments of a long video, adds animated captions in 99+ languages, and can publish or schedule posts on TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook and YouTube once you hold PRO+. It also shows a dashboard of views and engagement. It is a clipper for any long video, and it describes no stream-specific layouts.

PRO+ is $32.99 a month, or $14.09 a month on annual billing, for 300 minutes of video a month. The stream uses 240 of them. $32.99 divided by 300 is about $0.11 a minute, so the stream is about $26.39. Basic, the plan at no cost, covers 30 minutes of video each month and exports at 720p with a watermark. That is an eighth of the stream, enough for a sample and no more.

The limit is what sits around the plan. Face-aware reframe is not stated on the pages read, and neither is a maximum source length or a rollover policy. A developer API exists as its own product at $3,360 a month and up, and Enterprise customers can apply for access to the platform API. We found no MCP connector, split screen or fake text format.

6. Klap (a quota of generated clips)

Klap clips a long video from a YouTube link or an upload, follows the active speaker, and picks layouts by scene, including split screen and gaming ones, for 9:16 output. Every plan, the cheapest included, can publish and schedule to TikTok, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn, and shows analytics. It edits and transcribes in 52 languages, and a REST API is billed per operation.

The meter is clips generated. Basic is $29 a month for 100 clips, read from the page's own script, or $14 a month billed yearly. Its tool page says a four-hour stream yields about 50 clips, which would use half of the Basic quota, 29 × 50 ÷ 100, or $14.50 of a monthly plan. Klap's comparison page puts the entry price at about $0.03 per source minute.

Two cautions apply. On that same page Klap sums up Basic as ten videos of 45 minutes monthly, while the pricing page gives no length cap, so confirm that a four-hour file runs on a paid plan. And a clip you generate and discard still uses quota. The pricing page also runs an experiment that changes the counted unit between visitors. A free first video, with no watermark, lets you test before paying.

7. Crayo (a faceless-video toolkit with an AutoClip tool)

Crayo is the odd one out, because the clip tool is one part of a larger toolkit for short-form video. AutoClip for stream VODs is described as a facecam-forward streamer layout with captions and a 9:16 crop. Reddit story, fake text and split-screen gameplay videos are built in, with 100+ AI voices, and any paid plan can create an API key.

Hobby works out to $13 a month when billed yearly ($160 for the year) and bundles 250 workflow credits, 30 voiceover minutes and 2 hours of exported video. Clipper is $27 and Pro is $55 on the same yearly terms. A month-to-month price is absent from the page, and no allowance is quoted in source minutes, so there is no per-stream figure to give.

The limit is length and structure. Through the API, AutoClip takes sources of 1 to 3 hours, which is under our stream, and the app's own limit is not stated. Usage is split across four meters, credits do not roll over, and a plan can run dry on one meter while the others have room. There is no free plan or trial, the FAQ says there are no refunds, and no scheduler is described.

Side by side

FeatureGPT-VideoStreamLadderEklipseOpus ClipSpikes StudioKlapCrayo
How the stream arrivesFile you uploadTwitch and Kick VODs from a linkConnected Twitch, Kick or YouTube channelImports from Twitch, YouTube and moreNot confirmedYouTube link or uploadStream VODs
Entry paid planStarter, $19Starter, $14.99 (App Store)Premium, $24.99Starter, $15PRO+, $32.99Basic, $29Hobby, $13 (billed yearly)
What the meter countsSource minutesNo meter statedNot publishedSource minutesMinutes of videoClips generatedFour separate meters
Plan that holds 240 minutesStarter (250)No allowance statedNo allowance statedPro (300)PRO+ (300)Not confirmedNot confirmed
No-cost optionNo permanent plan; free access for new accounts: 50 credits for 14 days, no cardBasic editing, 7-day trialPreview scan only60 credits a month30 minutes a monthOne free videoNone
Posts or schedulesNoYesYesYes, nine networks on ProYes, from PRO+Yes, all plansNot described
Face or facecam reframeFollows the speaker's faceWebcam found, face keptNot describedObject tracking on ProNot statedFollows active speakerFacecam-forward layout
Public REST APINoNone foundNone foundYes, Pro (beta)Separate, from $3,360 a monthYes, per operationYes, any paid plan
MCP serverYes, 8 toolsNone foundNone foundYes, 29 toolsNone foundNone foundNot mentioned

How to choose

Start from where you want the finished clip to land, then check the stream length against the meter.

  • You want VOD to scheduled post in one app. StreamLadder or Eklipse. StreamLadder shows a face-aware crop, and Eklipse is tuned for gaming. Check the real checkout price on both.
  • You want to see why each moment was chosen, with a half-price first look. GPT-Video. Export the stream first, and expect to post the clips yourself.
  • You post to many networks and need an API. Opus Clip on Pro, or Klap if you prefer paying per generated clip.
  • You also make Reddit story and fake text videos. Crayo, and keep sources under three hours.
  • You want minutes of video as the meter, with a no-cost allowance every month. Spikes Studio.

Before you commit, run part of one real stream through each tool on your shortlist and look at the frames. On GPT-Video the free access holds 50 minutes of it at Standard. The safe zone checker shows where the app interface covers a clip, which matters when the facecam sits at an edge. If the source is a recording you are happy to post yourself, Starter is on the pricing page, and inside it the Editor Assistant applies whatever change you describe to a clip.

Prices and features on this page were read from each product's own public pages on 4 October 2026. Prices move; if something is out of date, it is a mistake and not a tactic.

Questions

How long a stream will a highlight clipper accept?

Opus Clip lists a maximum video length of 10 hours, and Klap's tool pages say videos up to 4 hours are supported. Crayo's API takes sources of 1 to 3 hours. StreamLadder and Eklipse state no maximum on the pages we read. GPT-Video counts source minutes, so 4 hours is 240 of the 250 on Starter.

Which stream clippers publish the clips to TikTok for me?

StreamLadder, Eklipse, Opus Clip, Spikes Studio and Klap all describe publishing or scheduling to social accounts. Crayo's pages describe a view tracker and no publisher. GPT-Video stops at the exported file on every plan, so the clip is posted by you or by a scheduler you already use.

What does one four-hour stream cost on each clipper?

GPT-Video spends 240 credits, about $18.24 at the Starter rate. Opus Clip spends 240 of the 300 credits in its $29 Pro plan, about $23.20. Spikes Studio PRO+ is $32.99 for 300 minutes, about $26.39 for the stream. StreamLadder and Eklipse state no allowance, so the plan price is the whole cost.

Do I have to export my Twitch stream before using GPT-Video?

Yes. GPT-Video takes a video file that you upload and does not import from a Twitch, Kick or YouTube link. Export or download the stream recording first. StreamLadder, Eklipse and Opus Clip can pull a VOD or a connected channel directly, which saves that step.

Why do StreamLadder's prices differ from what I see on its site?

The pricing page of StreamLadder is a script-only page that returned no readable text, so the figures here come from its official App Store listing. Store prices can include a markup. Confirm the web price at checkout before you budget, and treat the numbers here as the in-app prices.

Related

Try it on your own footage

Every plan comes with the whole editor. The only difference is how much video you run through it.

Plans from $19 a month. Cancel any day, keep the month.