Best AI caption generators for short videos, judged on one 60-second file
One finished 60-second video is the test: what stands between the file and its captions, how a mistake is corrected, and whether the text stays inside the TikTok, Reels and Shorts safe zones.
For one finished 60-second video, GPT-Video spends 1 credit, about $0.076 on Starter, and a wrong word is fixed in the transcript before export. Kapwing, at about $0.024 a minute on Pro, and Descript, at $0.04, cost less per minute. A Submagic credit works out near $0.42. Public pages rarely describe word fixes or safe zones, so we mark those not confirmed.
The short answer
Most caption roundups rate how pretty the text looks. This one asks a plainer question. You have a finished vertical video that runs 60 seconds, and you want correct captions on it today. Three things decide how that goes. What does the job use up on your plan? How do you change one wrong word? Does the text stay clear of the buttons and the bottom bar that each app draws over a video?
GPT-Video is our own product, which is why it opens the list, and its limits get the same plain treatment as every other entry. The next two entries are tools built around captions or clips (Submagic and Quso). Then come the four general editors (Kapwing, VEED, Descript and CapCut). The sequence within a group is our choice and says nothing about quality.
How we ran the test
We did not time any tool with a stopwatch, and we do not publish a seconds figure we never measured. Everything below comes from each vendor's own pages, read on 2026-10-04.
For the cost of the job, we take the vendor's unit and ask what 60 seconds uses. A per-minute figure is divided out where the page gives both the price and the allowance, and the arithmetic is written next to it. For the correction and the safe zones, the pages are mostly silent. A silence is written as "not confirmed on their public pages". It is not a no.
1. GPT-Video (captions rendered into a clip you upload)
GPT-Video is ours. Read this entry as what we say about ourselves, with the entries after it as the cross-check.
You upload the video file, and the audio is transcribed with Whisper-class speech recognition. Each word gets its own timing, so the text appears as it is spoken. Before export you read the transcript. Fix a name or a term once and the captions update everywhere. You can also ask the Editor Assistant to restyle the captions in plain language, and each change can be undone.
A 60-second file is 1 credit at Standard quality, because one credit is one source minute, rounded up with a minimum of 1. Starter is $19 for 250 credits, and $19 divided by 250 is $0.076 a minute. Correcting a word or restyling the text adds nothing to that, because only the minutes of the uploaded file are counted.
For the safe zones, we offer the safe zone checker. Upload one frame and the tool overlays each app's interface for TikTok, Reels and Shorts, so you see what the buttons cover. It sits outside the editor, so you check, then tell the Editor Assistant what to move.
GPT-Video has no permanent free plan. Confirming the email on a new account unlocks free access instead: 50 credits to use within 14 days, no card asked. That covers this 60-second test many times over, though exports stop at 2 a day and places are limited. The site states no list of caption languages. There is no import from a link, and no posting. More on AI captions.
2. Submagic (captions as the whole product)
Submagic is for creators who want caption style, hook titles and cuts of silence and bad takes in a single caption-first editor. Starter lists caption translation and an export at 1080p and 30 FPS without a watermark.
A 60-second file fits the plan. Starter allows videos up to 2 minutes, and one credit covers up to a minute. The credit rounding matters at this length, since 61 seconds costs 2 credits. Starter is $19 for 45 credits, so $19 divided by 45 is about $0.42 for each credit. The plan line also states those 45 credits as 15 videos, and the pages we read do not explain how the two numbers meet.
There is no no-cost plan. Its help centre mentions a trial limited to three short videos, watermarked.
The limit is that we found nothing on fixing a single wrong word, on the number of caption languages, or on safe zones. Whether unused credits expire is not stated either. Starter includes one social profile.
3. quso.ai (a clipper with captions and a calendar)
quso.ai is for creators who clip long recordings and also want captions and a posting calendar in the same place. Its pages list captions in 50+ languages with word-level timing, and a split screen editor.
It counts one credit for each minute of video uploaded, and anything under a minute rounds up to 1 credit. Your 60-second file therefore uses 1 credit. Lite is $29 a month for 100 credits, so $29 divided by 100 is $0.29 a minute. Editing, publishing and downloading use no further credits, which means a corrected word does not cost another one. Extra credits are sold at $0.15 each.
A no-cost plan gives 75 credits a month, with 720p rendering. Lite is the first plan with 1080p. Scheduling needs Essential at $39 a month.
The limit is expiry. Monthly credits end with the period, and only purchased add-on credits last. We did not confirm any safe-zone guides, and the pages list no API.
4. Kapwing (a browser editor that bills each AI action)
Kapwing is for someone who wants the captions inside a full browser editor, next to dubbing, text to speech and templates. Its Repurpose page states subtitles in 100+ languages.
The billing is per action. A subtitle transcription costs 1 credit for each minute, so the 60-second file takes 1 credit. Kapwing's Pro plan costs $24 monthly and holds 1,000 credits, so $24 divided by 1,000 gives $0.024 a minute, the lowest figure on this page. Pro also lists auto-subtitling up to 1,000 minutes a month, without a watermark and with 4K export.
The no-cost plan has 10 credits, 720p and a watermark. The pricing page lists a 4-minute export cap while the subscription FAQ lists 1 minute, so read whichever you see at sign-up.
The limit is the calendar. Kapwing wipes unused credits on the 1st of every month, and Pro has no trial and no refund after you subscribe. The pages we read do not describe a word-level fix or safe-zone guides.
5. VEED (an editor with unlimited subtitles on one plan)
VEED is for editors who want subtitles inside a general browser editor with avatars, dubbing and split screen. Creator lists unlimited auto subtitles, no watermark and export up to 1080p.
The price we could read is annual. Creator is $147 per user for the year, which VEED's page sets against 6,000 AI credits, and it did not give us a monthly price. We did not find a per-minute meter for subtitles inside the editor, so we state no cost for the 60-second file there. A separate Subtitles API on fal.ai starts from $0.10 a minute, which would put the same file at $0.10.
The free plan exports at 720p with a watermark. An older VEED page names different free-plan limits, and we do not rely on its numbers.
The limits are the expiry and the silence. Credits do not roll over, and monthly plans expire monthly. Language count for captions, word fixes and safe zones are not confirmed on the pages we read.
6. Descript (captions in a transcript editor)
Descript is for people who edit by working on a transcript. You delete words from the text and the video follows, and captions come out of the same transcript. Its clip maker page mentions animated captions.
The meter is media time. A 60-second file is 1 media minute. Descript's Hobbyist plan costs $24 monthly and includes 10 media hours. Ten hours equal 600 media minutes, and $24 spread over them gives $0.04 a minute. It has a separate pool of 400 AI credits as well, and we could not confirm whether captioning draws on it. The price is per person.
The no-cost plan gives 60 media minutes a month, with 720p export and a watermark.
The limit is two allowances and no carry-over. Unused media minutes and AI credits expire at the end of the month, though purchased top-ups last up to a year. The pages we read do not describe a caption word fix, a language count or safe-zone guides, and they do not mention face-aware reframing either.
7. CapCut (a general editor with a flat price)
CapCut is for people who edit on a phone or desktop and want captions in an app they already know. Its pages mention automatic captions across 20+ languages alongside text to speech, and the shorts tool can post to TikTok and YouTube directly.
There is no per-minute meter that we could find, so the 60-second file has no cost to divide out. CapCut Pro runs $19.99 monthly or $179.99 yearly, and the vendor adds that prices shift with region, device, tax and promotions. A free tier exists.
The limit is that the pages disagree about who gets what. One page says the auto caption generator belongs to Pro, and another describes captions as free. We could not settle it, and the live pricing page returned a 404 on the day we looked. Whether a free export carries a watermark is not stated. Word fixes and safe-zone guides are not confirmed.
Side by side
| Feature | GPT-Video | Submagic | quso.ai | Kapwing | VEED | Descript | CapCut |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plan used for the test | Starter, $19 a month | Starter, $19 a month | Lite, $29 a month | Pro, $24 a month | Creator, $147 a year | Hobbyist, $24 a month | Pro, $19.99 a month |
| What the plan holds | 250 credits | 45 credits, stated as 15 videos | 100 credits | 1,000 credits | 6,000 AI credits | 10 media hours, 400 AI credits | Flat subscription |
| Unit a 60-second file uses | 1 credit | 1 credit | 1 credit | 1 credit | Unlimited subtitles listed | 1 media minute | No meter found |
| Cost of that unit | $0.076 | $0.42 | $0.29 | $0.024 | Not stated | $0.04 | Not stated |
| No-cost plan | No permanent plan; free access for new accounts: 50 credits for 14 days, no card | No, a 3-video trial | Yes, 75 credits a month | Yes, 10 credits | Yes | Yes, 60 media minutes | Yes |
| Caption languages stated | Not stated | Translation on Starter, no count | 50+ | 100+ | Translation to 50+ on Pro | Not stated | 20+ |
| Word-level timing stated | Yes | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Unused allowance carries over | No, per billing month | Not confirmed | No | No | No | No | Not applicable |
| Safe-zone aid | Separate checker | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
How to choose
Start with the volume you caption in a month, then the way you correct mistakes.
- You caption a handful of finished videos and want the lowest bill. Kapwing and Descript state the lowest cost for a single 60-second file in their own units. Both come with the watermark and carry-over rules listed above.
- Captions are the whole job and the style matters most. Submagic is built around it. Check its credit count against your month, because 45 credits are stated as 15 videos.
- You want captions, clips and a posting calendar together. quso.ai. Scheduling starts on a $39 plan.
- You already live in one editor. Stay in VEED, Descript or CapCut, and test the caption step on one file before paying. Confirm the tier that includes it first on CapCut.
- You hold a finished file, want the transcript checked before export and are happy to post it yourself. GPT-Video. Send one 60-second video through the free access, correct the transcript, and drop a frame into the safe zone checker. If it suits you, Starter is the paid plan after that, at $19 on the pricing page.
If you already hold a subtitle file, the subtitle burner paints it into the video, and the Editor Assistant restyles the captions when you describe the look you want.
Prices and features on this page were read from each product's own public pages on 4 October 2026. Prices move; if something is out of date, it is a mistake and not a tactic.
Questions
What does captioning a single 60-second video cost on each tool?
It depends on the unit each vendor counts. GPT-Video uses 1 credit, about $0.076 on Starter. Submagic uses 1 credit at about $0.42, Quso 1 credit at $0.29 on Lite, Kapwing 1 credit at $0.024 on Pro, and Descript 1 media minute at $0.04. VEED sells unlimited subtitles on Creator, and CapCut sells a flat subscription.
Can I correct one wrong word without redoing the whole video?
On GPT-Video you correct the transcript once and the captions update everywhere before export. Quso charges no extra credits for editing. For Submagic, VEED, Kapwing, Descript and CapCut, the pages we read do not walk through fixing a single word, so we call that not confirmed instead of assuming a yes or a no.
How do I know captions will not sit under the TikTok or Reels buttons?
None of the tools here states safe-zone guides for captions on the public pages we read. The practical check is to export a frame and look at it. GPT-Video offers a separate safe zone checker that draws the TikTok, Reels and Shorts interface over a frame, and it works in your browser without an account.
Which caption tool states the most languages?
Kapwing states subtitles in 100+ languages on its Repurpose page, Quso states 50+, VEED lists translation to 50+ languages from Pro, and CapCut states 20+. Submagic offers caption translation but its public pages give no count. GPT-Video does not state a language list on its site, so check a short sample before relying on one.
Do the captions come back as a separate subtitle file?
GPT-Video renders the animated text into the exported vertical video, and its page describes no separate subtitle file. For a file you already hold, such as an SRT, the subtitle burner on our site paints it into the picture. We did not confirm file export for the other tools on their public pages.
Related
Try it on your own footage
Every plan comes with the whole editor. The only difference is how much video you run through it.
Plans from $19 a month. Cancel any day, keep the month.