Klap alternatives, compared by what the meter counts
The meter decides the bill: clips generated, minutes uploaded, hours analyzed or a count of videos, and only some of those can be priced before the month starts.
GPT-Video meters the source minutes you upload, so the month can be priced before it starts: $19 buys 250 credits, and a Draft pass costs half a credit a minute. Klap counts the clips it generates, so a discarded clip still uses quota. Opus Clip, Vizard and Spikes Studio also count minutes; Submagic counts credits and videos, and Choppity counts hours.
The short answer
Klap charges for output. Basic gives 100 generated clips each month, which means a clip you make and then bin is already spent. That detail is the reason this page is ordered by the meter. Two questions set the order. What does the counter count, and can you work out the month's bill before it starts?
GPT-Video is ours, so it stands first with that label on it. Its counter takes the minutes you upload and publishes the multiplier for each quality setting. Next come the tools that count minutes under a clear rule (Opus Clip, Vizard), then the tools where something else clouds the count: a video cap (Submagic), a rollover nobody states (Spikes Studio), an unstated period (Choppity). Klap closes the list because its counter sits furthest from anything you control at upload time. The placing judges the meter alone, and its section lists where it beats us.
Prices come from each vendor's own pages, read on 2026-10-04, and are monthly unless a sentence says yearly.
1. GPT-Video
Ours, so read this section as a claim and check it against the rest. It is built for people whose recordings arrive on a schedule, such as a weekly show or a batch for a client. Upload one file and the product writes a transcript, scores every moment, shows the first line and the reasoning for each clip it proposes, centers the frame on the speaker and adds captions. Corrections go to the Editor Assistant as plain requests, and each correction can be rolled back.
Paid pricing begins with Starter: 250 credits for $19 a month. Standard quality takes one credit per source minute, which puts a minute at $0.076 ($19 / 250). Draft takes half a credit ($0.076 x 0.5 = $0.038). Maximum takes two and a half ($0.076 x 2.5 = about $0.19). Fractions round up and the floor is one credit. Whatever is left when the billing month closes is gone.
The counter looks only at what you upload, and the edits you ask for afterwards add nothing to it. Its limit is the start. No plan at no cost renews each month. Each new account is granted 50 credits a single time, to spend within 14 days, and no card is asked, though the places are limited. It also does not post or schedule, does not accept a link or a YouTube address. GPT-Video also offers Programmatic access that opens with Creator. Developers get an MCP connector instead.
2. Opus Clip
The pick for people who want cutting, captioning and posting in one window, or who hand finished footage to Premiere Pro or DaVinci Resolve for a last pass. Starter, the lowest paid tier, runs $15 monthly and carries 150 credits, and each credit pays for one minute of imported source. Dividing gives $0.10 a minute ($15 / 150). Starter can post straight to YouTube Shorts, TikTok and Instagram Reels, and Pro ($29, 300 credits) is where the scheduler, other aspect ratios and XML export begin.
The counting rule is public and short. A partial minute rounds down, so 4.5 minutes costs 4 credits, and credits from a monthly plan lapse after 60 days. The surprises sit outside the rule. Each clip sent to X takes 3 credits for every X account it goes to, drawn from the same pool, and the page text gives no price for extra Pro packs, so a month that needs more than 300 credits cannot be priced from it. Below Starter sits a tier with nothing to pay, limited to 60 credits per month, watermarked animated captions and exports you can fetch for only 3 days.
3. Vizard
Suited to someone sitting on many hours of recordings who also wants posts scheduled from the same tool. Creator is $29 a month for 600 credits at the lowest step, and a credit is one uploaded minute, taken once per project, so asking for clips and a transcript of the same upload is one charge. The price per minute works out near $0.048 ($29 / 600). Unspent credits stay usable for two months on a monthly plan. Paid plans include scheduling to six networks and a REST API with sample code.
Of the minute counters here, this one has the cleanest rule, and its trouble is at the edges. A single upload is capped at 600 minutes and 30 GB. Steps above 600 credits are picked from a dropdown, and we could not read what they cost, so a bigger month has no price on this page. The tier with nothing to pay brings 60 credits, 720p video that carries a watermark, and limits of 10 minutes per export and 60 per upload. There is one rate and no cheaper first pass.
4. Submagic
Built around captions for short vertical videos, with clip-cutting from longer footage on top. Starter costs $19 per month and holds 45 credits, which the plan also describes as 15 videos. One credit stretches to a minute at most, and extra seconds bring another credit, which puts one credit near $0.42 ($19 / 45). Posts go out from the editor itself, and the REST API and the MCP server draw on one shared key.
You can foresee the bill here, since the plan names a video count. What you give up is length. Per-video ceilings are 2 minutes on Starter, 5 minutes on Pro (which costs $39) and 30 minutes on Business (priced at $69), alongside monthly counts of 15, 40 and 100 videos. A 45-minute episode is too long for all three. Export is 1080p on Starter and Pro. Whether unspent credits roll over is something we did not find, and neither did we find a face-following reframe claim. No plan is priced at $0, and the only way in without paying is a watermarked trial of 3 short videos, per the help centre.
5. Spikes Studio
For creators who want moment detection joined to scheduling on TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook and YouTube, plus a dashboard of views and engagement. PRO+ is the first paid tier: $32.99 monthly for 300 processed minutes, roughly $0.11 per minute ($32.99 / 300). Billed yearly it drops to $14.09 a month, near $0.047 ($14.09 / 300). The page prints its own per-minute rates beside the plans, but they looked inconsistent, so the division above is ours.
Basic costs nothing and gives 30 minutes a month, 720p, a watermark and 7 days of storage. The awkward part is the jump. Between PRO+ and Enterprise ($115.99 for 1,200 minutes) there is no step. We found nothing on rollover and nothing on a maximum source length. Developers go elsewhere: the Stellar API begins at $3,360 a month for 50,000 credits, and Enterprise customers can apply for platform access.
6. Choppity
A fit for creators who want clips, a scheduler and layouts for panels or interviews. Its framing keeps the person talking in the middle of the picture and can set up a split screen when several people speak. Text-based editing is included. Starter is $20 a month for 3 hours of AI analysis, with 1080p, one connected account and projects kept 30 days. Creator, at $32, raises that to 5 hours and unlocks the API. Team is $48.
The counter is hours of source analyzed, and the price card never says whether the hours renew monthly or what happens to the ones you skip, which is why we give no per-minute price. Publishing is another loose end. The homepage lists TikTok, Instagram Reels and YouTube Shorts, but the scheduler page limits direct publishing to YouTube for now. The account at no cost has 1 hour of analysis, three days of project storage and no social accounts. Yearly billing takes 30% off.
7. Klap
Worth a look for creators who want posting built into the plan from the start. Scheduling to TikTok, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn, any number of connected accounts and analytics come with each tier. The editor and transcriber work in 52 languages, with subtitle translation and AI dubbing, the reframe follows whoever is speaking, and its REST API charges per operation, $0.32 for one Generate Short. The first video needs no card. On posting, dubbing, the API and the free first video it goes beyond what GPT-Video offers.
The entry tier, Basic, is a quota of 100 clips: $29 on monthly billing (read from the page's script) and $14 a month on yearly billing. That is $0.29 per clip, or $0.14 on the yearly price. Klap's own comparison page describes Basic as ten videos of 45 minutes, so 450 minutes. On that reading $14 / 450 is about $0.031 per source minute, close to the $0.03 Klap quotes, and $29 / 450 is about $0.064.
Trouble starts with the meter. A clip you generate and bin still uses quota, the unit on the pricing page can change under an experiment, and the video cap appears only on a comparison page. Pro and Pro+ limits are unconfirmed and no MCP connector turned up. See also Klap vs GPT-Video.
Side by side
| Tool | Entry price | What the meter counts | Publishing | A way to start without paying |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-Video | Starter, $19/mo, 250 credits | Source minutes: Draft x0.5, Standard x1, Maximum x2.5 | None, on any plan | No permanent plan; free access for new accounts, 50 credits for 14 days, no card |
| Opus Clip | Starter, $15/mo, 150 credits | Source minutes; a partial minute rounds down | Auto-post on Starter; scheduler on Pro | Plan with 60 credits a month |
| Vizard | Creator, $29/mo, from 600 credits | Uploaded minutes, charged once per project | Six networks from Creator | Plan with 60 credits a month |
| Submagic | Starter, $19/mo, 45 credits (15 videos) | Credits of up to 1 minute, with a video count and a length cap | From the editor; networks not stated | Trial of 3 short videos |
| Spikes Studio | PRO+, $32.99/mo, 300 minutes | Minutes of video processed | Four networks from PRO+ | Basic: 30 minutes a month |
| Choppity | Starter, $20/mo, 3 hours | Hours of source analyzed; period not stated | Scheduler from Starter; pages differ on networks | 1 hour of AI analysis |
| Klap | Basic, $29/mo, 100 clips ($14/mo billed yearly) | Clips generated; the unit can vary by experiment | Four networks, every plan | One video, no card |
Prices were read on 2026-10-04.
Ten 45-minute episodes in one month
Take 450 source minutes and see what each meter does with them.
- GPT-Video. At Standard that is 450 credits against Starter's 250. One $25 top-up on Starter makes $44 ($19 + $25) for 750 credits, and Creator at $49 holds 800. Run the batch at Draft and it is 225 credits, which Starter covers for $19.
- Opus Clip. Starter holds 150 credits and one Pro pack 300. The page text prices no further packs, so we cannot give a total.
- Vizard. Creator's 600 credits cover it for $29, and the 150 left over stay valid into the following month.
- Submagic. The longest video any plan accepts is 30 minutes, so a 45-minute file does not go in.
- Spikes Studio. PRO+ stops at 300 minutes, so the batch moves you to Enterprise at $115.99.
- Choppity. Creator's 5 hours equal 300 minutes, and whether that renews monthly is not on the page.
- Klap. Ten 45-minute videos match what Klap's comparison page says Basic covers, for $29 a month. If each video yielded ten clips, the 100-clip quota would be gone.
How to choose
First test whether you can state your month in source minutes. If you can, a minute counter gives a bill you can check in advance. If you cannot, the other units each protect you in a different way.
- Klap fits when posting, 52 languages with dubbing or a per-operation API outweigh a predictable bill, and a quota that counts discarded clips is acceptable.
- Opus Clip has the cheapest paid plan on this page at $15 a month, with posting included. Keep an eye on the 60-day expiry and the 3-credit cost of each X post.
- Vizard suits long recordings. Its entry plan has the lowest per-minute price among the minute counters on monthly billing, and it adds six networks and an API. Check the 600-minute upload cap first.
- Submagic suits short footage where captions are the job, or a team that wants a REST API plus an MCP server under one key.
- Spikes Studio suits scheduling plus analytics at about 300 minutes a month, if an unknown rollover is tolerable.
- Choppity suits several speakers per frame. Ask which period its hours cover before paying.
- GPT-Video suits re-cutting. A Draft pass costs half a credit per minute, every pick arrives with its reason, and corrections are typed to the Editor Assistant as plain sentences. To see the product itself, open the AI clip generator page.
Among the six other tools, four have a plan at no cost, while Klap and Submagic give a small sample. GPT-Video can be part of that test too, through the one-time 50 credits a new account may use over 14 days. Put the same recording through two tools and post whichever clips you prefer. Our plans are on the pricing page, and more matchups sit in the alternatives hub.
Prices and features on this page were read from each product's own public pages on 4 October 2026. Prices move; if something is out of date, it is a mistake and not a tactic.
Questions
What does Klap count, and why does that make the bill harder to predict?
Klap's pricing page says you pay for the clips you generate, and Basic allows 100 a month. A clip you make and then delete still uses quota. The page's script also holds versions that count clips exported, minutes uploaded or videos uploaded, switched by an experiment, so the unit can differ between visitors.
Which Klap alternative has the most predictable monthly bill?
The three that count source minutes by a stated rule: GPT-Video, Opus Clip and Vizard. GPT-Video states the multiplier for each quality level, Opus Clip rounds a partial minute down, and Vizard charges once per project even if you clip and transcribe the same upload. Spikes Studio does not say whether minutes roll over, and Choppity does not say what period its hours cover.
Which Klap alternatives publish or schedule posts?
Opus Clip posts from Starter and schedules from Pro. Vizard schedules to six networks from Creator, Spikes Studio schedules to four from PRO+, Submagic publishes from its editor, and Choppity has a scheduler from Starter. Klap includes it on every plan. GPT-Video stops at the exported file on every plan, so you post it yourself.
Do any Klap alternatives have a no-cost plan?
Opus Clip and Vizard each give 60 credits a month, Spikes Studio gives 30 minutes a month with a watermark, and Choppity gives 1 hour of AI analysis. Submagic offers a trial of 3 short videos instead, and Klap gives one video with no card. GPT-Video has no monthly plan at no cost, but each new account gets 50 credits once, valid for 14 days and with no card. After that, Starter at $19 a month is the first paid plan.
Which Klap alternatives have an API or an MCP connector?
Opus Clip has an API on Pro (Beta) and an MCP server. Submagic has a REST API and an MCP server on one key. Vizard and Choppity have REST APIs, Vizard on paid plans and Choppity from Creator. Spikes Studio sells a separate developer API. GPT-Video has an MCP connector and API access open to Creator and Studio users, and Klap has a REST API but no MCP server that we found.
Related
Try it on your own footage
Every plan comes with the whole editor. The only difference is how much video you run through it.
Plans from $19 a month. Cancel any day, keep the month.