Best AI video editors compared by what the AI does for you
The order follows how much of the edit the AI does for a recording you already hold, and the tool that generates new footage comes last.
GPT-Video makes vertical clips from a long recording you upload and changes each clip when you ask in a chat with Editor Assistant, from $19 a month. It does not publish or schedule posts. Opus Clip clips and posts, Descript edits by transcript, CapCut, Kapwing and VEED add AI tools to a full editor, and invideo generates new video.
The short answer
The words "AI video editor" cover three different kinds of product. Some cut a long recording into short clips for you. Some let you change a video by editing its words or by describing the change. Some make new footage from a prompt. Which tool is right for you depends on which of the three you need most.
We make GPT-Video, and it covers the first two kinds. You upload a long recording and it writes out a transcript, scores every moment and shows the opening hook plus the sentence that earned each pick. The vertical frame is centered on the speaker's face, and captions are added. Then you ask Editor Assistant for a change in one sentence and the clip on screen updates, and each change can be undone. Plans start at $19 a month.
Know the limits before you read on. GPT-Video does not publish or schedule posts on any plan. It has no multitrack timeline, so you cannot assemble a video from loose footage in it. You also have to upload the file, since a pasted link or YouTube address is not accepted. Facts about the other six tools come from their public pages, read on 2026-10-04.
How the editors are ordered
For each tool we asked one question. What does the AI do with a recording you already hold? The order runs from tools built around a long recording, to a tool built around its transcript, to general editors that added AI tools, to a tool that generates new footage. Among the general editors the order is alphabetical.
Three more things were noted for each tool, because they decide what a month costs.
- What the price counts. Source minutes, media minutes, credits and a flat subscription all run out at a different speed.
- The limits. Upload size, export resolution, watermarks and the shortest source a feature accepts.
- What happens after the export. Posting, scheduling, an API or an MCP connector.
This order suits the kind of product we make, which is why ours is labelled. No tool gets a score or a rank number, because we have not tested them against each other on the same footage.
1. GPT-Video (ours: clips from a long recording, then edits by chat)
GPT-Video suits creators, clippers and agencies who start from a long recording such as a podcast, an interview or a stream. The AI works at two points. It chooses the clips and records the reason for each one, and then Editor Assistant takes plain-sentence requests such as lifting the captions or tightening the cut after the hook. The same account also holds a split screen maker, a fake text message video maker, a Reddit story video maker and AI voices in English and Italian.
The cheapest plan, Starter, runs $19 a month and carries 250 credits. Creator is $49 for 800 credits with 4K export, and Studio, at $199, holds 6,000 credits. A credit pays for one source minute at Standard quality, half that in Draft and two and a half times that in Maximum. Only source minutes use credits, so the changes you ask Editor Assistant for add nothing.
The limits are real. No plan stays free for good. When a new account confirms its email it receives free access, meaning 50 credits that last 14 days, no card, a daily cap of 15 Editor Assistant messages and a limited number of places. Nothing is posted for you, and the tool does not stand in for a general editor.
2. Opus Clip (AI clipping with posting included)
Opus Clip suits creators who want the AI to cut the clips and then publish them. It imports from YouTube, Google Drive, Vimeo, Zoom and other places, so you can start from a link, which GPT-Video cannot do. Its hosted MCP server lists 29 tools that cover clipping, editing, exporting, scheduling and posting, although tool calls need Pro Beta or a higher tier.
Each credit covers a minute of the video you import. The Free plan gives 60 credits a month, clips up to 1080p in 9:16, a watermark on the captions, no editor and downloads that stop working after 3 days. Starter costs $15 monthly for 150 credits, with the editor included, and can post on its own to Instagram Reels, TikTok and YouTube Shorts. Pro costs $29 monthly for 300 credits, or $174 for a year. It brings other aspect ratios, a social scheduler, an XML export for the Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve editors and API access in beta.
Check three things first. The credit is flat, so there is no cheaper pass for a first look. A partial minute rounds down. Starter is limited to 9:16, and the scheduler, the XML export and 4K download start at Pro. A full side-by-side is on the page for Opus Clip alternatives.
3. Descript (edit video by editing its words)
Descript suits people whose raw material is speech and who would rather edit text than a timeline. Taking a word out of the transcript cuts that stretch from the video. Underlord, its AI editor, handles tasks such as captions, filler word removal and Studio Sound. The same product adds AI voices and avatars, along with green screen, B-roll generation and eye contact correction. Its clip maker lets you highlight part of the transcript and add animated captions.
There is a no-cost plan with 60 media minutes a month and a one-time 100 AI credits, exported at 720p with a watermark. Hobbyist costs $24 monthly per person, or $16 when you pay by the year, and covers 10 media hours and 400 AI credits. Creator costs $35 monthly, or $24 on the yearly option, and covers 30 media hours, 800 AI credits and 4K export. Every paying user gets API access, and there is an MCP server that works from Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor.
Two counters run at once, media time and AI credits, and neither rolls over. Automatic reframing and face tracking are not mentioned on the clip maker page. The API cannot export a media file yet, and API or MCP requests return an error when either counter is empty.
4. CapCut (a free general editor with AI tools)
CapCut suits people who want one editor on web, desktop and phone and who may not pay at all. Its Pro tier lists an auto caption generator, background remover, motion tracking, noise reduction, AI video, AI music and an AI image generator. Its long video to shorts tool accepts one file up to 3 hours or 10 GB, crops it to vertical around the subject, and offers captions in 20+ languages. One-click posting to TikTok and YouTube is also listed.
There is a free tier, but CapCut's own pages disagree about which tools are free and which need Pro. Pro is $19.99 monthly and $179.99 yearly, while Team starts near $24.99 per user. CapCut says prices change with region, device, taxes and promotions, and its pricing page returned an error on the day we checked, so these figures come from its Standard vs Pro page.
No allowance in minutes or clips is stated for the shorts tool, so its cost per source minute is unknown. We found no public API for the editor. The pages that name a CapCut MCP describe a browser workflow, not a server. For a longer comparison, see CapCut alternatives.
5. Kapwing (a browser editor with AI tools and credits)
Kapwing suits people who finish in a browser editor and want ready-made formats. Its tool list includes AI subtitles in 100+ languages, dubbing, text to speech, lip sync, split screen and a text message video template. Repurpose Studio makes vertical clips from a long video, and its Auto Speaker Focus follows whoever is talking.
The free plan includes 10 credits and exports at 720p with a watermark. Pro costs $24 monthly, or $16 when you pay by the year, and includes 4K export, no watermark and 1,000 credits. Credits are spent per action. Subtitles cost 1 credit per minute, dubbing costs 10 credits per 30 seconds and lip sync costs 30 credits per minute. Kapwing does not state what one Repurpose run costs.
Repurpose Studio takes only sources between 10 minutes and 3 hours long, so a short video is rejected. Paid credits reset on the 1st of the month, there is no Pro trial, and refunds are not given after you subscribe. Its MCP connector handles uploads, retrieving exports, subtitles, translation and dubbing, and clip generation is not among the tools it lists. No REST API is documented.
6. VEED (a browser editor sold in AI credits)
VEED suits people who correct and finish talking videos in the browser. It lists subtitles, AI voice, avatars, dubbing and a split screen editor, and its Clips tool finds pieces of a long video and re-centers the speaker.
Plans are priced per user. On yearly billing, Creator costs $147 per user, about $12.25 a month, and covers unlimited auto subtitles, 1080p exports without a watermark and 6,000 AI credits. Pro is $265 a year with 30,000 credits, translation to 50+ languages and 4K export. Studio is $465 a year. Exports on the free plan are 720p and carry a watermark. We could not read the monthly prices.
VEED prices plans in credits and AI videos, so it never says how many source minutes a plan covers, which plan includes Clips or what a Clips run costs. Clips needs spoken audio in a video longer than two minutes, and credits lapse when the subscription period ends. Both an API and an MCP server exist, yet the server produces talking-avatar video and does not cut clips.
7. invideo (AI that generates the video)
invideo suits people who have a prompt and no footage. Its generation runs on models including Seedance, Sora and Veo, and AI voice generation, voice cloning and UGC ad tools sit around the result. Changes afterwards happen on a multitrack timeline that several people can edit at once, and a remote MCP server lets assistants such as Claude Code, Codex and Cursor work on that timeline.
invideo quoted euro prices, so no dollar amount appears for it. Starter costs 20 EUR per seat each month and holds 400 credits, with only the Lite agent. Plus is 60 EUR a month, or 36 EUR billed yearly, for 2,000 credits. Max is 150 EUR a month, or 75 EUR billed yearly, for 5,000 credits. The no-cost plan resets its credits every Monday, and watermark-free downloads are paid.
It comes last because it works from a different starting point. Its credits are spent on generated video, images and audio, and the pages we read describe making new footage, with no mention of cutting a long recording into clips. Credits reset each billing cycle, and invideo can change what an action costs without notice.
Side by side
| Feature | GPT-Video | Opus Clip | Descript | CapCut | Kapwing | VEED | invideo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What the AI does | Picks clips from a long recording, then edits them from chat | Picks and posts clips | Edits video by its transcript | AI tools inside a full editor | AI tools plus clips from long video | AI tools plus a Clips tool | Generates video from prompts |
| Entry paid plan | Starter, $19 a month | Starter, $15 a month | Hobbyist, $24 a month | Pro, $19.99 a month | Pro, $24 a month | Creator, $147 a year | Starter, 20 EUR a month |
| What the price counts | Source minutes | Source minutes | Media minutes and AI credits | Flat subscription | Credits per AI action | AI credits | Credits for generated media |
| No-cost plan | No; free access for new accounts, 50 credits for 14 days | Yes, 60 credits a month | Yes, 60 media minutes a month | Yes, features vary | Yes, 10 credits | Yes, 720p with watermark | Yes, weekly credits |
| Long recording to vertical clips | Yes | Yes | Clip maker from the transcript | Yes, up to 3 hours or 10 GB | Yes, 10 minutes to 3 hours | Yes, longer than 2 minutes | Not described |
| Changes by instruction | Editor Assistant chat | MCP server with 29 tools | Transcript edits and Underlord | Not described | MCP connector for subtitles and dubbing | Not described | AI agents and MCP server |
| Reframes on the face | Yes | AI reframe, tracking on Pro | Not described | Subject kept centered | Auto Speaker Focus | Speaker re-centered | Not described |
| Posting | None, on any plan | Nine networks on Pro | Direct uploads to YouTube and Wistia mentioned | One-click to TikTok and YouTube | Not stated | Not found | Sharing to social media mentioned |
| API and MCP | REST API on Creator and Studio; MCP connector | API on Pro Beta; MCP server | API for paying users; MCP server | None confirmed | MCP connector; no REST API documented | API and MCP (avatar video) | MCP server |
All competitor figures are from the vendors' public pages as of 2026-10-04. CapCut's pricing page gave an error that day, so its numbers come from the Standard vs Pro comparison. invideo was quoted in euros.
How to choose
Pick by the job you need done.
- A long recording that has to become clips, with changes made by chat. GPT-Video. Take Opus Clip instead if you want the same tool to post the clips, or if your source is a link.
- Speech that you would rather edit as text. Descript, which also covers AI voices and eye contact correction.
- A general editor with AI tools, on any device. CapCut if you want a free tier and one-click posting, Kapwing if you want split screen and a text message template, VEED if you work in the browser on talking videos.
- A video made from a prompt, with no footage. invideo.
If clips from long recordings fill most of your week, try one recording on the free access, then look at the clips on your own footage. The price list has the plans. Short-form video editors compares the same family by the kind of workday you have, and AI clipping tools looks only at tools that make clips. For how Editor Assistant works, read about vibe editing.
Prices and features on this page were read from each product's own public pages on 4 October 2026. Prices move; if something is out of date, it is a mistake and not a tactic.
Questions
What is the best AI video editor for turning a long video into clips?
It depends on what you need after the cut. GPT-Video and Opus Clip are built around a long recording. GPT-Video charges half a credit for a Draft pass and lets you change a clip by chat. Opus Clip posts and schedules the clips for you, which GPT-Video never does.
Which AI video editor lets me edit with a chat or a text prompt?
GPT-Video has Editor Assistant, which changes the clip on screen from a plain sentence and lets you undo each change. Descript edits video by editing its transcript and has the Underlord AI editor. invideo has AI agents and an MCP server for timeline edits. Opus Clip has an MCP server whose tools include editing, driven from your own assistant. CapCut, Kapwing and VEED did not describe a chat that edits clips.
Is there a free AI video editor?
CapCut, VEED, Kapwing, Descript, Opus Clip and invideo each describe a no-cost plan with limits such as a watermark, 720p or a small credit pool. GPT-Video has no permanent free plan. A new account gets free access instead: 50 credits for 14 days, no card, while places last.
Can an AI video editor post to TikTok and YouTube for me?
Some can. Opus Clip publishes and schedules to nine networks on Pro, CapCut lists one-click posting to TikTok and YouTube, and Descript mentions direct uploads to YouTube and Wistia. GPT-Video stops at the exported file on every plan, so you post it yourself or hand it to your own scheduler.
Does GPT-Video replace a full video editor?
No. GPT-Video works on footage you upload, turns a long recording into captioned vertical clips and edits them by chat. It has no multitrack timeline for building a video from loose footage, and you upload the file because links and YouTube addresses cannot be imported.
Which AI video editors have an API or an MCP connector?
Opus Clip, Descript and VEED have both an API and an MCP server, though the VEED server makes talking-avatar video. Kapwing and invideo have MCP connectors, and CapCut confirmed neither. GPT-Video has a REST API on Creator and Studio and an MCP connector at /developers/mcp.
Related
Try it on your own footage
Every plan comes with the whole editor. The only difference is how much video you run through it.
Plans from $19 a month. Cancel any day, keep the month.