---
title: "CapCut Pro Price: $19.99 a Month, $179.99 a Year"
description: "CapCut pricing: Pro is $19.99 a month or $179.99 a year, Team about $24.99 a user, and a free tier exists. Plus what the same clips cost on GPT-Video."
summary: "GPT-Video prices clips by the source minute, so a month's cost is known up front, and Creator at $49 lists 4K export. The CapCut Pro price is $19.99 a month or $179.99 a year, Team is about $24.99 per user, and a free tier exists. CapCut edits more and costs less at ten hours a month. Its shorts tool shows no per-minute meter."
url: "https://www.gpt-video.com/compare/capcut-pricing"
compares: "GPT-Video, capcut"
checked: "2026-10-04"
---

# CapCut pricing: what Free, Pro and Team cost, and what clips cost on GPT-Video

GPT-Video prices clips by the source minute, so a month's cost is known up front, and Creator at $49 lists 4K export. The CapCut Pro price is $19.99 a month or $179.99 a year, Team is about $24.99 per user, and a free tier exists. CapCut edits more and costs less at ten hours a month. Its shorts tool shows no per-minute meter.

## The short answer

The two products charge for different things. CapCut gives you a free tier, then Pro at $19.99 a month, and you edit as much as you like inside that fee. GPT-Video asks how much recorded footage you plan to turn into clips, and charges credits for the minutes you upload.

If you only cut a few clips a month, CapCut's free tier may be enough, though its pages do not say which parts of the shorts tool are free. If you cut long recordings every week and want 4K on a named plan, the comparison is closer than the monthly numbers suggest, and the sections below lay it out.

## What CapCut costs

| Plan | Monthly price | Billed yearly | What it adds |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Free | $0 | Not applicable | Basic editing, filters, text and captions, according to CapCut's own pages |
| Pro | $19.99 | $179.99 a year | AI tools such as auto captions and background removal, premium templates and effects, a stock library, collaboration features |
| Team | About $24.99 per user | Not stated | A shared workspace and team collaboration |

Two things make this table less simple than it looks. CapCut says its prices change with region, device and promotion, so the figure you see at checkout can differ from the one printed here. And its own pages do not agree on which features sit behind Pro: one tools page calls the service completely free, while the page comparing Standard with Pro files the auto caption generator on the Pro side.

## How CapCut meters what you do

The pages we read describe a flat subscription. They give no allowance of minutes, clips or exports for the long video to shorts tool, and they say a single upload can run to 3 hours or 10 GB. Without a stated allowance, we cannot calculate what one source minute costs on Pro, and we would rather leave that blank than guess.

CapCut's own pricing page, opened on 2026-10-18 from outside the US, shows euro prices. It also lists a monthly allowance of AI credits on Pro and Teams, and a higher plan called Ultra. We could not read dollar figures for those, so the numbers on this page stay with the Standard vs Pro page, which we read again on 2026-10-18 and found unchanged.

For a buyer this has a practical meaning. A flat fee is easy to budget, and heavy months cost the same as quiet ones. The risk is a limit that is not written down, so run one long recording through the shorts tool on your own account before committing a team to it.

## What the same work costs on GPT-Video

GPT-Video counts one credit per minute of source video at Standard quality, rounded up with a one-credit minimum. Draft quality counts half and Maximum counts two and a half, so the first pass of a project can cost less than the final render.

| Plan | Price | Credits | Cost per source minute |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Starter | $19 a month | 250 | $0.076 |
| Creator | $49 a month | 800 | $0.061 |
| Studio | $199 a month | 6,000 | $0.033 |

Unused credits do not carry past the month they were issued in, and a $25 top-up adds 500 more when a month runs short. There is no permanent free plan. Confirming your email on a new account opens free access, which holds 50 credits, roughly 50 source minutes at Standard, to spend inside 14 days with no card. Those credits go on uploaded minutes only, and the changes you ask for afterwards are not counted. Places are limited, and buying a paid plan closes the free access.

## Putting the two prices side by side

Take someone who records four hours of video a month, which is 240 minutes. That fits inside Starter's 250 credits, so the bill is $19 on GPT-Video against $19.99 on CapCut Pro. The two land within a dollar of each other, and the difference is in what you get. CapCut gives a full editor, GPT-Video gives finished vertical clips and a chat that edits them.

Now take ten hours a month. Six hundred credits needs Creator at $49, or $490 over a year on annual billing, which is about $40.83 a month. Billed monthly, Creator is $29.01 more than CapCut Pro at $19.99. Billed yearly, it is $310.01 more than CapCut's $179.99. The extra buys 4K export on a named plan, a face-following crop, and edits made by writing sentences to Editor Assistant.

## When CapCut is the better buy

If your volume is low, if you want one app for clips and everything else, or if you edit on a phone, CapCut does more outside clipping and may cost less through its free tier. GPT-Video does not publish to your accounts. Its free access is one 14-day allowance of 50 credits, and after that the cheapest option is Starter. A person who wants to post straight from the app, or to keep paying nothing, should pick CapCut.

## When GPT-Video is worth the extra

The extra money makes sense when clipping is the whole job. You pay by the minute you upload, so you can work out a month's cost from the length of your recordings. You also get the reason each moment was picked, and you fix a clip by describing the change in plain words. Compare a real recording on both before you decide, on CapCut's free tier and on GPT-Video's free access. The full [comparison with CapCut](/alternatives/capcut) walks through features, and the [price list](/pricing) has every plan.


## Choose CapCut if

- You want the lowest monthly price, because a free tier exists and Pro is $19.99 a month.
- You edit more than clips and need templates, effects and a stock library in one app.
- You work on a phone as much as on a computer.
- You would rather pay a flat fee than count minutes.


## Choose GPT-Video if

- Your main job is cutting long recordings into vertical clips, and you want the cost tied to how much footage you feed in.
- You need 4K export written on a named plan, which is Creator at $49 a month.
- You would like to explore cheaply first, using Draft quality at half a credit per source minute.
- You change clips by typing a sentence to Editor Assistant instead of dragging items on a timeline.


## Questions

### What is the CapCut Pro price?

CapCut lists Pro at $19.99 a month, or $179.99 a year, which works out near $15 a month. CapCut says prices vary with region, device and promotions. Its pricing page showed euro prices when we opened it from outside the US, so the number on your own screen is the one that counts.

### Is CapCut Pro free?

No. CapCut has a free tier with basic editing, but Pro is a paid plan at $19.99 a month or $179.99 a year. We found no way to get Pro at no cost on CapCut's own pages, so the free tier is the no-cost option, and its exact limits are not stated.

### Is there a CapCut plan for teams, and what does it cost?

Yes. The Team plan is shown as starting at around $24.99 per user per month, and it adds a shared workspace and collaboration features. Larger teams should expect the total to grow with every seat added.

### Does CapCut charge by the minute for its shorts tool?

On the pages we read, no per-minute or per-clip allowance is stated for the long video to shorts tool. CapCut's regional pricing page does list monthly AI credits on Pro, for its AI features. We cannot turn the Pro price into a cost per source minute, so we do not print one.

### What does a month of clipping cost on GPT-Video?

One credit buys one source minute at Standard quality. Starter gives 250 credits for $19, Creator gives 800 for $49, and Studio gives 6,000 for $199. Draft counts half a credit and Maximum two and a half. Before any of that, a new account gets free access of 50 credits for 14 days, with no card, while places last.

### Can I pay for GPT-Video once a year?

Yes. Annual billing charges ten months for twelve, so Starter comes to $190 a year and Creator to $490 a year. That puts Creator near $40.83 a month, against $49 when billed monthly.
