---
title: "GPT-Video vs Spikes Studio: Plans and Pricing"
description: "Spikes Studio alternative for agencies: GPT-Video's Studio plan gives each client a space and counts source minutes. Spikes Studio wins on API and posting."
summary: "Agencies and clippers who serve several clients get more from GPT-Video. The $199 Studio plan keeps each client in a separate space, sends your jobs to the front of the queue and holds 6,000 credits, each one a minute of source video. Spikes Studio wins on a no-cost plan, posting to four networks and a developer API."
url: "https://www.gpt-video.com/alternatives/spikes-studio"
compares: "GPT-Video, spikes-studio"
checked: "2026-10-04"
---

# GPT-Video vs Spikes Studio: client spaces for agencies and a meter in source minutes

Agencies and clippers who serve several clients get more from GPT-Video. The $199 Studio plan keeps each client in a separate space, sends your jobs to the front of the queue and holds 6,000 credits, each one a minute of source video. Spikes Studio wins on a no-cost plan, posting to four networks and a developer API.

## The short answer

Spikes Studio and GPT-Video both turn a long recording into captioned vertical clips, and both sell the work in minutes. They part ways when you serve more than one client. GPT-Video's Studio plan is $199 a month for 6,000 credits, which is about 100 hours of source video. Each client gets a separate space, and your jobs go to the front of the queue.

The meter is the second difference. A credit is one minute of the source you upload, at Standard quality, and the quality setting raises or lowers the cost.

Spikes Studio is ahead in other places. It has a no-cost plan, it posts to four networks and it sells a developer API. The sections below show where each side leads and what a month costs on both.

## Where GPT-Video is stronger

**A separate space for each client.** On the Studio plan every client you work for has a space of their own, so one account's recordings and clips stay apart from another's. Spikes Studio's public pages that we read do not describe client workspaces. Its Enterprise plan lists unlimited storage, custom templates, fast processing and an account manager, which is a different offer.

**Your work goes first.** Studio jobs are placed at the front of the queue. That matters on the day three clients want their clips. Spikes Studio lists fast processing on Enterprise. Its public pages never explain what fast means in practice, so a fair comparison is not possible.

**The meter counts what you upload.** At Standard quality a credit buys a single minute of your uploaded source, with partial minutes rounded to the next whole credit and one credit as the floor. Draft is billed at 0.5 credit a minute and Maximum at 2.5. Each credit is valid in the month that granted it. Spikes Studio meters minutes of video processed, and its pricing page gives no rule for minutes that are left over at the end of a month. We cannot tell you whether they carry over or expire.

**Face, reasons and chat.** The picture follows the speaker's face in GPT-Video. Each pick arrives with its opening hook and the line that earned it, and edits go to Editor Assistant as a plain sentence, each one reversible. Spikes Studio lists resizing tools for TikTok, Instagram and YouTube. Face tracking is not stated on the pages we read, and the reasons for a pick and chat editing are not confirmed. The two pages behind this are [vibe editing](/vibe-editing) and the [reframe tool](/features/auto-reframe).

## Side by side

| Feature | GPT-Video | Spikes Studio |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Entry paid plan | Starter, $19 a month, 250 credits | PRO+, $32.99 a month, 300 minutes |
| No-cost plan | No permanent plan; free access for new accounts: 50 credits for 14 days, no card | Basic, 30 minutes, 720p, watermark |
| Top plan | Studio, $199 a month, 6,000 credits | Enterprise, $115.99 a month, 1,200 minutes |
| What the meter counts | Source minutes; Standard 1 credit, Draft 0.5, Maximum 2.5 | Minutes of video processed |
| Separate space per client | Yes, on Studio | Not confirmed on their public pages |
| Queue | Studio goes to the front | Enterprise lists fast processing |
| Unused minutes | Credits belong to the month that granted them | No policy found |
| Reframe | Centers on the speaker's face | Resizing tools; face tracking not stated |
| Publishing | None; you post the exported file | TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook, YouTube from PRO+ |
| Analytics | None | Dashboard for views and engagement |
| API | Creator and Studio accounts only; MCP connector, eight tools | Separate developer API; Enterprise can apply |

## Where Spikes Studio is stronger

- **A no-cost plan.** Basic gives 30 minutes a month, with a watermark and 720p export. GPT-Video has no clipping plan at that price. Its free access is a one-off, 50 credits that a new account must use within 14 days.
- **Posting.** PRO+ publishes and schedules to TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook and YouTube. GPT-Video stops at the file.
- **A developer API.** It has an auto-edit endpoint at 10 credits per input minute. It is priced for companies: from $3,360 a month for 50,000 API credits.
- **Price at 300 minutes.** PRO+ annual billing is $14.09 a month for 300 minutes.
- **Analytics.** A dashboard shows views and engagement on what you post.

On our side the gaps are the ones above: no posting and no scheduling. GPT-Video also takes the video file itself and does not import from a link.

## What a real month costs

**One creator, 5 hours of source.** That is 300 minutes. Spikes Studio PRO+ holds exactly 300 for $32.99, about $0.11 a minute. Starter on GPT-Video holds 250 credits, so 300 minutes at Standard needs a top-up: $19 plus $25 is $44, which is $11.01 more than PRO+. Draft changes the picture. The same 300 minutes cost 150 credits in Draft, which fits inside Starter at $19, $13.99 less than PRO+. That leaves 100 credits for a second pass at higher quality, and at 2.5 credits a source minute they cover 40 minutes. On annual billing PRO+ is $14.09 a month and Starter works out to $15.83 (the yearly bill is $190, ten months charged for twelve), so the yearly price goes to Spikes Studio.

**An agency with six clients, 10 hours each.** That is 60 hours, or 3,600 minutes. Studio at $199 holds 6,000 credits, so the month uses 3,600 and leaves 2,400. Credits do not move between months, so price the month by what you use: $199 divided by 3,600 is about $0.055 for each minute. The listed rate is $0.033 a minute when all 6,000 credits are used.

The biggest Spikes Studio plan we read is Enterprise, at $115.99 for 1,200 minutes. That is about $0.097 a minute, found by dividing the monthly price by the minutes. We left out the per-minute rates printed on its pricing page, because the annual ones looked inconsistent. A 3,600 minute month is three times what Enterprise holds, and the plans we read give no way to price it. The developer API would reach it. It costs $3,360 for 50,000 credits at 10 credits a minute, which is 5,000 minutes, or $0.672 a minute.

**The month where Spikes Studio can be cheaper.** Suppose you need 1,200 minutes and no client spaces. Enterprise is $115.99. Creator at $49 holds 800 credits, and a $25 top-up adds 500, so the month is $74. Billed monthly, GPT-Video is the cheaper of the two here. On annual billing Enterprise falls to $56.34 a month, while Creator at $40.83 (that is $490 a year over 12 months) plus the top-up is $65.83. On annual terms Spikes Studio wins on price. Studio is $83.01 more than Enterprise ($199 minus $115.99) and holds five times the minutes. It pays off when you use most of those minutes or need the client spaces.

## What you give up and where to start

Moving means no no-cost plan, no posting from the tool and no analytics dashboard. Our REST API comes with Creator and Studio, not Starter. The work ends at the exported file, and posting stays with whichever scheduler your team uses today.

What you gain is a plan shaped for client work and a counter you can read at a glance. A single recording can be tested first at no cost. Confirm the email on a new account, and while places last it receives 50 credits for 14 days, no card required. Buying any plan closes that free access. If the clips hold up and you serve several clients, choose Studio at $199, create one space per client and run the longest recording of the first client through Draft. The full plan list sits on [pricing](/pricing). People who cut long videos for other channels can read the [clippers page](/use-cases/clippers).


## Choose Spikes Studio if

- You want to stay at $0 month after month. The Basic plan gives 30 minutes a month, 720p and a watermark, with no card.
- You want the tool to post for you. PRO+ schedules to TikTok, LinkedIn, Facebook and YouTube.
- You need a developer API with an auto-edit endpoint, and the budget for it.
- You are one creator at about 300 minutes a month. PRO+ is $32.99 and annual billing brings it to $14.09.


## Choose GPT-Video if

- You make clips for several clients and want each one kept in a separate space.
- You want your jobs at the front of the queue when the work is due.
- Your volume is far above 1,200 minutes a month. Studio holds 6,000 credits for $199.
- You want to read why each clip was picked, and to center it on the speaker's face.
- You want to explore a long recording in Draft at half the credits before you finish anything.


## Questions

### Is GPT-Video a good Spikes Studio alternative?

It is a good alternative for an agency, a clipper with paying clients, or anyone whose volume runs into thousands of minutes. It is a weaker one if you want a no-cost plan, posting from the tool, view analytics or a developer API.

### Does GPT-Video give each client a separate workspace?

Yes, on the Studio plan at $199 a month, which also holds 6,000 credits and puts your work at the front of the queue. Starter and Creator do not have a space per client. Spikes Studio's public pages do not describe client workspaces.

### How is the GPT-Video minute counter different from Spikes Studio's?

Both sell minutes. GPT-Video counts only the source you upload: one credit per minute at Standard, half at Draft, two and a half at Maximum, rounded up. Spikes Studio's pricing page says minutes of video processed and gives no rule for minutes left over at month end.

### Does GPT-Video have an API like the one Spikes Studio sells?

Yes, in a different form. GPT-Video has Programmatic access for Creator and Studio accounts, described at [Developers](/developers). There is also an MCP connector, so an assistant in Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor can find and export clips through eight tools. Spikes Studio has a separate developer API, priced from $3,360 a month for 50,000 API credits.

### Can I use GPT-Video at no cost first, as Spikes Studio's Basic plan allows?

For a short time. A new account that confirms its email gets free access, if places remain, with 50 credits to spend in 14 days and no card. It is not a monthly plan like Basic, and Starter at $19 a month is the first paid plan. The free tools at /tools, including the video compressor, the converter and the safe zone checker, run in the browser with no account, but they are tools and not a clipping plan.
